Lost in Green and Gray

11 08 2010

In what turns out to be a pleasant surprise, since I can now do them in one post, I only knit five projects in July, and they’re all themed because they’re in the same colors. I spent most of July deep in thought, lost in vacation recovery, and catching up on my reading, which directly resulted in my lowest knitting yardage turnout since August ’09; I only knit 1291 yards. For the sake of comparison, just two months before, in May, I knit 3865. For anyone wondering, I keep track of my yardage for stash control. It’s hard to justify a 1500 yard splurge if you’re only knitting a 1000 yards a month.

My first project to share was also knit in Florida, and was a hat I agreed to knit for Abbie. I was initially disappointed because it looked, well, stupid on me, but of course, Abbie looks fantastic in it. It’s a Billie Hat (project on Ravelry) knit in Manos del Uruguay Wool Clasica in 707. Please note the awesome iphone photo; it’s actually pretty rare for me to get modeled hat shots.

billie hat 3

billie hat 1

I actually started my Aragorn socks in June. I finished the first one, but then set the project aside since it’s pretty demanding. I started on the leg of the second sock on the way home from Florida, but didn’t finish the pair until later in the month. The pattern was originally written for a mystery sock knit-a-long that I didn’t take part in, and as such the directions are a little strange. Still, they were clear enough that I was able to work the top-of-the-foot-gusset without too many issues. The pattern is called Aragorn and the yarn I used is The Plucky Knitter Superwash Merino Wool Handpainted Fingering Weight in Huntingdon. If it’s not obvious at this point, I seriously love Plucky’s dyeing. All the twisted stitches were a little hard on my hands, but I really liked the end result.

aragorn 2

aragorn 5

Then one more delight in green. I actually sort of dreamed this project. I fell in love with a black version of Miralda’s Triangular Shawl, from Nancy Bush’s Knitted Lace of Estonia.  I played with different ideas before I finally struck on replacing the nupps with 6/0 beads. There was a lovely set of rich green ones from eathfaire, and all I needed was a matching skein of yarn. I knew exactly what I wanted which was a skein of tosh lace in malachite, but the production of tosh lace has been slow recently in favor of more popular bases (TML, anyone?), and I couldn’t find it anywhere…except my friend Beth’s stash. She graciously agreed to destash it to me, and I was able to knit this beauty. The beads turned out to have A/B highlights which make them look more teal than emerald in some light, but I’m still happy with the result. I used about 400 beads.

miralda 4

miralda 2

Now for gray. I actually purchased a skein of Have You Any Wool Luxe Sock in Graphite with another sock pattern in mind. I had eyed it in a magazine and thought it looked really interesting, but as people on Ravelry actually started producing pairs, it looked decidedly awkward. Around the same time I started considering a different project for it, I realized that I had never knit a pattern from another Nancy Bush book in my collection, Knitting Vintage Socks. I selected the lovely Child’s First Sock in Shell Pattern, and made my own set of Pencil Points. I love how elegant these look, like the opposite of the Rainbows I made last month.

pencil point 2

pencil point 3

Finishing the socks allowed me to work on another project that I had been wanting to do for ages, which is Ysolda Teague’s Mousie. I used the leftover HYAW and a snippet of Mama Blue Troika in Girl to make Sofia her own little mouse, which now uses to terrorize the kitchen.

mousie 1

mousie 4

As for what I’ve been up to in August? Christmas and birthday knitting. Maybe I’ll post pictures in a few days? Maybe not!


Actions

Information

One response

13 02 2011
Jen

Those socks especially are gooooooooooorgeous!

Leave a Reply

