Miss Berklie

1 10 2010

I spent all of September knitting wildly, which means things like updating got shuffled to the bottom of the list, and that I’m probably three posts of finished objects behind. I also have the conundrum of what to post. Is there a chance my sister will peak in before Christmas? I should hope so, thus it’s probably a poor idea to add her present. I suppose I can push aside anything that could spoil a surprise and do a post-Christmas update. I believe last time I promised to post the contents of my Miss Berklie project, which was a gift for expecting friends.

I love baby knitting, but it seemed like it had been absolutely ages since someone I knew was having one. Okay, so my sister had a baby just last December, but he’s a boy, which is not nearly as fun, so when we learned that our friends Camie and Matthew had a little girl on the way, I went baby knitting crazy. It was a great deal of fun.

So what did I knit? First, a hat. I knit a Swirl Hat from Sheepy Time Knits from Crown Mountain Farms Sock Hop in Pink Cadillac. It’s a pretty pattern, and deceptively simple for such an interesting result. Also it’s written for a variety of sizes; I really like the pattern.
miss berklie 2

Then I knit another hat, this time Simple newborn hat… from Small Things in Knit Picks Stroll in Bare.  This one is actually written for sport weight yarn so it required a little adjustment to use sock yarn. I also changed the rolled brim to seed stitch.

miss berklie 3

I then moved on to tiny baby socks and found, what I think, is the perfect baby sock–tiny, detailed, and adorable. The sock in question is Hunca Munca (Rib & Twist) from Knitzi.com, also knit in KP Stroll in Bare.

miss berklie 4

Tiny socks call for tiny shoes, so next I knit a pair of Saartje’s Bootees. This pattern is an enduring favorite on Ravelry for a reason. I knit it in Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Multi in Devon and KP Stroll in Cocoa.
miss berklie 5

At that point the yarn I had to order for the project had arrived, so I began the larger pieces. I started with a Baby Kina from Kids Tricots (Yes, the website is in French, but her patterns are also offered in English). I knit it in Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino in 016. I have to admit I was a little disappointed by the color, which is one of the dangers of internet yarn ordering; I was hoping for a turquoise and this toned a little more toward sage. The pattern was straight-forward, and I think the result is cute. I was particular pleased by finding shell flower buttons, which is exactly what I had in mind.

miss berklie 6

I followed that with Ysolda Teague’s Sophie, a sweet bunny toy, out of the same Cashmerino yarn.

miss berklie 1

I really only needed one more project to round out the gift, which was a blanket. I knit a simple garter strip car seat blanket in Knit Picks Swish Worsted in Carnation and Truffle using two balls of each and switching colors every two rows.

miss berklie 7

That covers it and gives everyone an idea of what can happen if you have a crazed knitter as a friend. As for September, I knit socks, a hat, shawls, a tee, a scarf, and yes, more baby knits, all coming up soon. No, really this time.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

