First of September

6 11 2010

Before we get too much further into November, I suppose it’s time to start catching up on that backlog of unshared FOs. As I mentioned before, my last shared project was from August, so it’s time to share some knits from September. I think that it will probably take two posts, but we’ll see how it goes.

The first is my sister’s Christmas present. I debated whether or not to share it, but let’s be honest, my sister has no interest in knits outside of my ability to produce them, so I don’t think she’s reading my blog, and even if she is, this project is based on her birthday present, and she already has an idea of what I’m doing and so a general idea of what it may look like.  I have to admit to being ridiculously proud of it because it’s actually a hybrid of two patterns–SpillyJane‘s Gnome Mittens and Kate Gagnon Osborn‘s Selbu Modern. The stitch counts actually line up–the hat is basically three mittens–so it was pretty straightforward until the decreases. Due to her wool allergy, it was knit in Knit Picks Comfy Fingering.

gnome hat 3

gnome hat 1

The next project I worked on was actually just a lark. On knit night, Abbie decided to clean out her stash, so she dragged in her bin and started passing out yarn. She came across a single skein of Knit Picks Suri Dream and admitted she had no idea why she had purchased it. I told her I would take it home, figure out what it could be, knit, and bring it backed to her. After a little bit of research I offered that I could either knit a cowl or Maddox by Rebecca Danger (Oooh, I love her patterns). She chose Maddox, so I did my best to adjust the gauge, and knit him. I must have done something wrong, because when I was finished I still had half the yarn left, so I knit him a little twin, and now Sofia and Elliott have matching monsters.

maddox

My next project was a bit of an experiment. I’m mostly an accessories knitter; I pass my time knitting scarves, shawls, socks and hats. I think it’s an innate terror of the vagaries of gauge. If you miss gauge by a bit on a shawl, it’s still a functional shawl. If you miss on a cardigan, it’s probably not going to be something you’ll love to wear. Anyway, I’ve knit twenty shawls this year, so I was thinking it might be time to branch out a little, and I liked several of the patterns in Knitscene Fall 2010, so I decided to attempt Mandy Moore‘s Dorflinger Tee.  I used my leftover hand-dyed Cascade Eco Wool for it, along with a little WotA Bulky in Coal (also from Abbie’s stash sorting) when I ran out. It worked. It fit, and I’m still not a garment knitter.

experiment 3

experiment 2

Speaking of those shawls that I love knitting so much, I think I’ll finish this post up with a couple of them. The first is Oscilloscope Shawl, from the same issue of Knitscene, designed by Kate Gagnon Osborn. I knit it for Susan in Brooks Farm Mas Acero that she purchased at the DFW Fiber Fest. I think it came out well, and Susan seemed to like it.

oscilloscope 2

oscilloscope 1

The last shawl is named Envy after the Herbivore I knit for Syl in March. I fell instantly in love with it and needed my own. I decided to also use MCN Fingering for my version, in this case Sanguine Gryphon Skinny Bugga in Longhorned Beetle. The pattern is from Stephen West. I intended this to be my last selfish knit until I finish my stacks of Christmas knitting.

envy 6

envy 2

This is where I say I’ll do the rest of September soon. This time I think I even mean it.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

