This is not a collection.

27 01 2011

I was looking over the projects that I planned to group for this post and realized that they really don’t have much in common, aside from being things I knit from the end of November to the middle of December, so right, here they are.

First up is my tiny bit of charity knitting for the year. My local knitting group (okay, at my heavy prompting) chose to knit for Save the Children/Caps for Good. Don’t feel like knitting? You can also donate.

The program supports:

• antibiotics to treat infection
• immunizations against tetanus
• skilled birth attendants at every birth
• counseling on breastfeeding
• information on basic newborn care such as keeping the cord clean and keeping the baby warm

I knit the pattern provided in the action kit, but made several modifications to suit my knitting tastes. For the sake of improving the tightness of the hat, I chose to knit it at 5 stitches per inch and CO 56, instead of 4 spi. I also knit it in the round, instead of flat, and added an i-cord at the top. I used some Rowan Calmer in Fuchsia 277, leftover from Sofia’s Spring Garden Tee, on US 9/5.5mm.

caps for good hat

And now in a completely different direction…I next knit my friend Karen‘s Christmas present. I’ve long been in love with Cookie A‘s Twisted Flower Socks, but the confidence to attempt them was a bit long in developing. I finally worked up my nerve, and I’m delighted with the result. I knit my version in Mama Blue Troika Sock in Lover on US 1/2.25mm.

twisted flower k 3

twisted flower k 4

Really, I’m enjoying this. It makes me feel like my dedicated accessory knitting is somehow versatile, so we’ll follow my charity and gift knitting with…a sample knit! This is another one for roseisarose, this time her Facets hat. I really liked this one, and it’s knit for a luxurious MCN worsted, specifically Have You Any Wool‘s Luxe Worsted in Spice and Infrared. I knit them on US 6/4mm and US 7/4.5mm.

The first picture was taken by Abbie of The Green Wife, and the model is my friend Susan.

facets 9

facets 6

Speaking of Susan, she hosted a little ornament decorating party that I was unable to attend. I crocheted my apologies in her very own Skull Ornament.  The pattern was provided by Lion Brand, and I crocheted it in Hobby Lobby I Love This Cotton in White and Black on a F/3.75mm hook.

skull ornament

See what I mean about nothing being in the same category? Okay, perhaps that’s a little wrong. I have three hats and two projects knit in MCN, but nothing besides that.  :)  Last up is a little something I knit myself. The truth is that I usually crack at some point in the holiday season and knit something for myself. It looks like much like last year, it was the first week of December. I called my project Visions of Plums because while I was slaving over my needles, I kept dreaming about knitting this hat; also the coloway is called Plum Tortie. The yarn is Pigeonroof Studios Superwash Sport, and I knit it on US 4/3.5mm. I had envisioned that I would knit a snug Sockhead, but the more I looked at the pattern, the more I was sure it wasn’t what I wanted, so I used Ravelry’s ridiculously wonderful pattern browser and located Stephanie Pearl-McPhee‘s Lorne’s Hat. I knit it ribbed for 10 cm, and then stockinette for 16 cm, the total hat length is 28 cm. It came out as exactly what I wanted, and it is delightfully warm.

visions of plums 1

I hope you enjoyed my non-related knits!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

