Selfish, selfish knitting

31 01 2011

January is my favorite selfish knitting time because I’m basically decompressing after six months of knitting for other people nearly exclusively. I knit whatever I feel like for as long as I feel like. It’s the only time of the year I cast on five or six projects (1-2 is normal) and swap between them as the mood strikes me. I love January, but I’ll admit by mid-February I begin to again crave my normal knitting discipline since that’s how I actually get things done. So how have I spent this January? I’ve knit two shawls and four pairs of socks. I’m mad for socks right now. Cookie A released a new book Knit. Sock. Love. and I have wholeheartedly signed onto the KAL group on Ravelry.

My first finished project for 2011 is for that knit-along, a pair of Pointelle, knit on US 1/2.25mm and US 1.5/2.5mm. The yarn was a lovely skein of Sanguine Gryphon Skinny Bugga in Sandworm. Being a Dune nerd, I named my project Shai-Hulud. I love, love these socks.

Shai-Hulud 4

Shai-Hulud 5

After that I cast on some socks with a skein of my birthday yarn that has been sitting around since May. I purchased a couple of skeins of MCN light fingering yarn in a base called Kashmir from The Woolen Rabbit. This colorway is called Blue Moon, and I’m knitting Anne Hanson‘s French Quarter Sock in it on US 0/2.0mm and US 1/2.25mm, so I named the project Blue Moon over the French Quarter.

bmofq wip 2

I’ll admit to only knitting the first sock in the third pair, because I wanted to make sure that I would have enough yarn for the fourth pair. Having determined that, I knit the whole fourth pair first, and then came back to finish this pair of Blackrose Socks by Suzi Anvin. I knit Blackrose on US 1/2.25mm  in my very first skein of Tri’Coterie, some BFL SW in True Blood.

blackrose 2

blackrose 1

So what pair of socks had me so excited that I knit a whole sock to be able to get to them? That would be OMGWTFBBQ. I managed to get a single skein of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Multi in Zombie BBQ in destash, and then used the red True Blood for heels, toe, and cuff. They’re simple toe-up with an afterthought heel, and I like them. A  lot.

omgwtfbbq 2

omgwtfbbq 1

Before I got back to the Blackrose socks, I decided to tackle another project that I had been working on intermittently. I’d started a Clockwork by Stephen West, using a combination of handspun given to me by my friend Laura and a skein of The Plucky Knitter Silk/Merino 50/50 435 in Funny Affair with Tiffany’s that I had detangled after a death strike by someone’s 15-month-old chocolate lab. Given the yarn’s near-death experience, I decided to call the project Minutes to Midnight. It was knit on US 5 -/3.75mm. I don’t know how well the two yarns work together, but I had to do something to cover the post-frogging fuzziness of the silk yarn.

minutes to midnight 2

I have had a few other things in the work, but I’m not able to share all of them now, so that’s it for now!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

