I’d rather be knitting…

30 04 2011

should have been the subtitle of this blog. Why am I such a bad blogger? Because given the choice between, spending 20-30 minutes pounding away on the keyboard and selecting pictures, I’d rather be knitting. Rather than thinking of this as a betrayal to the blog, I’d like to think of it as a serious commitment to my knitting. All that said, the reasons I decided I needed a blog in the fist place are all still valid, so here we are at the end of April, and it’s time to play catch-up again. Worse, I’ll fully admit that I haven’t even thought about designing another pattern and don’t even have anything in the works. Maybe soon?

So where does that leave us? It’s time to do finished objects from March and now April. As to how my knitting time has panned out, I divide it between knitting for the shop, knitting for Rose, and personal knitting (primarily the Cookie A. Knit. Sock. Love. KAL).

Picking up where I left off last time, I have a combination project. While they qualified for the KAL, the primary reason I knit these was as a gift for Claire’s birthday. These are Cookie A‘s Monkey knit in Crystal Palace Yarns Panda Silk Solid in 3003/Strawberry Cream. I think Claire liked them, so I’ll call this one good.

claire's monkey 1

After finishing those, I worked on another sample knit for Rose, this time the delectable Sugared Violets. It was knit in some gorgeous Yarn Chef Minestrone in Afternoon Tea, and was delightfully easy with all the stockinette. I love the attractive crescent shape.

svs 1

I then knit a hat. I find hats are pretty much the perfect breaks between larger projects. Sometimes when I’m feeling frustrated with something more complicated, I’ll knit a hat just for the fun of it. Anyway, this particular hat is Norie by Gundrun Johnston and was knit in Sundara Sport Merino in Glacier, which was my first time using this base. I felt that the yarn had at little less of that inner light (stunning gleam?) I associate with Sundara, but I’m knitting another project in it right now that has that shine, so it was probably just the colorway.

norie sundara

I then dived back into the sock KAL, this time knitting the other In and Out sock that I didn’t have time to squeeze into February (see details in the previous post). The socks are pretty, but I’m still not a fan of the base.

in and out 4

I’ll round out this post with a Kindle Sleeve. I think I could knit these in my sleep at this point, so what’s so special about a Kindle Sleeve? Well, a couple of things. First, I upgraded on the yarn on this one; it was knit in madelinetosh tosh merino in ink. Second, it was for an auction to benefit Japan. I’m very proud to say it raised $70.

kindle sleeve japan 3

To honor my two post per month commitment (it’s 4/30 after all), this will be followed directly by a second post covering the remainder of March.


Actions

Information

One response

30 04 2011
Kristen

Lovely work. I knit hats as fun breaks as well. There’s a box of random, hand knit hats under my bed. One of these days, I will donate it to a Hats for the Homeless charity.

Leave a Reply

