State Fair of Texas

21 04 2012

The response to that last post was pretty stinky, so I decided to follow my bliss, which is to be honest, mostly not blogging. As I’ve said before, I’d rather be knitting. Seriously. Typing, unlike say reading or listening to audiobooks, occupies my hands and prevents me from knitting. This is my work desk, by the way, with my faithful Kindle and headphones.

I like books

I woke up this morning though and realized I felt like writing. Hooray. So, without further ado…the State Fair of Texas post.

I have to admit that I had truly intended to do all kinds of preparation work for the state fair, but then the shop took off, and I was just trying to cram in some time on it, so in the end I only knit one project specifically for the fair, which means that I’ve posted most of this before, but, you know, not with ribbons.

First up the honorable mentions. I got one for this lovely hat that I loved when I knit, which is why I submitted it. The pattern is Toorie by Carina Spencer and was knitted in madelinetosh tosh merino in norway spruce.

2011 Texas State Fair 5

I also got a fine HM for Original Design, for the Cabled Kindle Sleeve. This particular one was knit in Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Molly.

2011 Texas State Fair 4

I received third place ribbons for two submissions.

One was in the toy category for the only item I made specifically for the fair, Daphne and Delilah by Rebecca Danger in luxurious MCN worsted. Both colors came from indie dyers now on hiatus, but in the hopes that they will find dyeing in their futures again, the blue is Femme Fatale Fibers Venus Worsted in Alice Goes to Wonderland and the orange is Have You Any Wool Luxe Worsted in Spice. Since I haven’t shared this particular project before, I’m including a non-fair picture. I’d also like to add that this is for sale locally at Alley Cat Collective.

d and d sf 1

2011 Texas State Fair 2

My other third was in the rather competive Shawl category. I submitted a shawl I knit for Rose Beck, Forgotten Garden, which I’ve already talked about here. Much to my annoyance, they displayed it backwards. You can’t really tell in my awesome glass-reflected picture, but that is purl bumps out.

2011 Texas State Fair 3

My big ribbon was a second place in the Sock category. This one cracks me up, because I truly selected these socks for submission because they were the only unworn pair I had with no mistakes in them. I have to admit that if I’m knitting a pair of socks for myself and I make a mistake, I usually fudge it because they’re socks, and who will ever know? It turns out that if it’s for a fair submission, then the judges will know.

I didn’t even like this pair initially as I mentioned in the original post about them. Moreover, I have a “only a husband could take a picture this bad” photograph to accompany them. I hope you will now understand why I almost never have modeled shots. Really, you couldn’t have told me to fix my bangs? Or that I was flushed from the ubiquitous Texas midday heat?

2011 Texas State Fair 1

This was a fun experience, but I don’t know that I would do it again. In a State Fair of Texas thread on Ravelry, the oldtimers kept using the phrase “big bag of ribbons” to refer to their victories, and really if all I’m going to get from this is a giant plastic bag of ribbons and some bragging rights, I think I can safely pass. Oh, and I did get some blue ribbons from the much less prestigious Texas-Oklahoma State Fair. So that counts, right?


Actions

Information

6 responses

22 04 2012
Kristen

Yay! Finally! I actually went to your Flicker page to see your displayed fair items a while ago. Congrats on the ribbons. I planned to enter our county fair out here last year, but ended up being ill around that time, so I am hoping to see how it goes this year. Ours, though, has annoyingly limited categories. Maybe some day I’ll consider a State fair, if the county fair experience seems fun to me.

22 04 2012
haramisdesigns

I’m glad I did it at least once, and it was fun to see my work on display with all the other winners, but because of how big the fair is (yay, wiki entry here) it’s quite a production to even enter. I mailed my entries in July and got them back at the end of November. Compare this to the Texas-Oklahoma Fair (which is effectively a county fair), in which I dropped off my entries in person on Friday, and picked them up on Sunday. All those considerations aside, it cost $100 to take the family to the state fair to see the knits on display, plus my $20 in entry fees, but I am working on my big ole’ bag of ribbons.😉

24 04 2012
cubbyholes

I think you did awesome! I love that hat. I think I may just “have” to go get that pattern.🙂 I think you should be really proud. Those fairs are usually really big and the competition stiff. I remember doing that in PA before we moved and how much fun it was winning both the pie and the cake categories. I still have those ribbons and they make me smile.🙂 Grats to you!

28 02 2013
peg

I have a question maybe a silly one, but here goes how do you submit an item to the fair, and do they have a loom entry? thanks

28 02 2013
haramisdesigns

I have no idea as to whether or not there’s a loom category, but I found all my info on the State Fair of Texas website in the Creative Arts section.

http://www.bigtex.com/sft/CreativeArts/Contests.asp

On Thu, Feb 28, 2013 at 3:17 PM, haramis knits

27 05 2013
Anabel Maldonado

Where I can find the rules of entry, dates and all the information about the Fair?? Thanks..

Leave a Reply

